Uncategorized

Self-Publishing: Stuff That Bugs Me!

Hey there!

I know I haven’t been blogging much lately and anyone who reads this blog will know the reasons for that.

Anyhow, since I’ve been getting closer to completing my full length novel, Oath of God, I’ve found myself immersed in the world of formatting and editing. As most readers will know, I did a Diploma in Editing and Proofreading so I could better handle the whole process. Ever since I had a bad experience with paying for a ‘professional’ Editor and realising how easy it is for people to label themselves as such, I decided to learn how to do it better. How to utilise the process for my own benefit and that of my books. There is a lot of snobbery associated with Traditional versus Self-Publishing and that for some reason, the former is the better option and will produce a better product. While that is the case in some instances, I’ve found there are a lot of amazing Self-Published books out there. Where the author has taken the time to really work on their story, characters, plot and to have great covers and decent Editing.

There are occasions when I have read a Traditionally Published book and discovered quite a few errors, some of them glaringly obvious, but have been missed by the plethora of Editors and Proofreaders that have supposedly gone through the book multiple times.

And there are some Self-Published books that should never have seen the light of day, never mind a page on Amazon.

In my view, writing is a job like any other. It takes time and dedication.

Writing is NOT a quick fix. Or an easy path toward fame. People write because they have a passion for the craft or they really want to get a story out there.

Don’t get me wrong. I think people should do what makes them happy. They should at least try. However, I may be ok at drawing BUT I would never attempt to create my own book covers. I accept my limitations. To a degree. At other times, I’m plain stubborn!

There’s a grey cloud over Self-Publishing. In that, it’s now becoming elitist. I’m a member of writing groups and there’s a lot of pressure on aspriring writers to be more professional than Traditionally Published authors. I DON’T believe that is appropriate. While, I think anyone approaching or even thinking about writing a book should take the time to learn and discover the ins and outs of the genre they wish to write in, there is no perfect formula. Read lots. Maybe take a Creative Writing Class or buy a bunch of decent self-help books on writing and editing. Discover. Learn. Progress.

Personally, I see my writing as a part-time job that I work on everyday. I combine it with all of my other jobs and working around a chronic illness. I study. Research. And grow as a writer all the time. While there are authors out there I admire, I know that I have to make my own way in the writing world. What I choose to write is part of who I am. My hope is that readers will like what I’ve written, but I feel I must write what’s on my mind.

I know this is sounding like a rant, but basically, instead of expecting to hit the Publish button and get instant gratification, slow down and produce a product that will shine in the Self-Published world like the diamond it truly is.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

