books · self-publishing · writing

Me, Myself and I

A lot of the writing process is a solitary process, where one is confined to the area best suited for their creative needs, whether that be a desk, an office (if lucky enough), or just tapping out those stories on a laptop or even going ‘old school’ and writing by hand.

I’ve spent many hours, some happy and some stressful, busy at the computer and lost track of time and I’ve also spent a fair amount of time unable to write due to reacurrance of ill-health. Being self-published puts a lot of pressure on the writer to ensure they stick to some sort of deadline, which I’m afraid to say, I haven’t lately. It’s an annoyance when I can’t write, for whatever reasons, and great when I can get a few minutes, or even hours to get some writing done. Not all of it will be great and some gets deleted, but it helps to keep the story moving forwards and stops it stagnating in the docs file on my laptop.

I’m not much of a planner, which I think I’ve admitted before on a different post, but I do have a general idea of what I want and how I want the story to end. It doesn’t always work out that way, but I have a ‘bits and bobs’ file, where deleted ideas sit and stew until needed or just wallow away in obscurity.

I guess, many writers can relate to that feeling of guilt if they’re non-productive, or if they have to delete large swathes of text, but it’s all part of the process. Writing is a learning curve, a steep one at times and a joyful one at others. I don’t believe there is a right or wrong way to write a story, whatever works for the author, really. Every writer has strengths and weaknesses and the best work on those to improve and get better over time.

Some of my old writing is atrocious, absoloutely terrible and I’m determined they will never see the light of day! I look back on those moments as a time of discovery, where I studied and learnt how to be a writer and what it meant to be rejected by agents and how to get over that and keep pushing forwards, determined to get my stories out there.

I love what I do.

Even if others don’t quite understand the appeal.

It’s awesome when I get feedback on my work and helps me to become a better writer.

I take one day at a time.

Here’s to the next book! Whoop-whoop!! 😀

 

Leave a Reply

