self-publishing · writing

Print on Demand

Okay, like most other self-published authors, I use Createspace for the paperback versions of my novella. I know there are other options, but Createspace offers the best opportunity for me as a beginner. Later, I may look into hardback versions and multiple outlets for my work, but right now, I’m just starting out.

Back to the point of my post this morning, I just happened to be browsing Amazon the other day and on my bookshelf, (through independent publishing) and apparently Amazon are going to offer the option of creating an ebook version and a paperback version through their new on demand service, BUT…There’s a catch!

Here’s a little quote from the site: “We’re excited to offer the opportunity to publish paperbacks in addition to Kindle eBooks. We’ll be adding even more print-related features in the future, like proof copies, author (wholesale) copies, and expanded distribution to bookstores and non-Amazon websites. CreateSpace still offers these features, and KDP will offer them as well”. 

I think many authors would appreciate the opportunity to have a proof before allowing their books to be available for order. I know I do. I also like the chance to order copies at reduced prices, so I can either offer signed copies or sell them myself.

Don’t get me wrong, I think the idea of doing both at the same time is a great thing, if it works and it’s an efficient process. I know many authors prefer to publish their ebooks and paperback seperately, due to isses that may arise with formatting. Createspace do offer the chance to publish both at the same time, asking if you’d like to publish an ebook while you’re publishing a paperback, but I’ve chosen not to use this feature.

There are some other features to the KDP publishing of paperbacks, including:

  • Distribution: Reach paperback readers through Amazon websites in the US, Europe, and Japan.
  • Royalties: Earn up to 60% royalties on the list price you set, minus printing costs.
  • Rights: Maintain creative control and own your copyright with our non-exclusive agreement.
  • Get to market fast: Publish your paperback for international sale in just a few days.
  • 100% availability: Printing on demand means your book will never be out of stock.

Of course, I believe Createspace also offers some of these features as well…

“Important: CreateSpace still offers features like physical proofs, author copies, expanded distribution, and professional publishing services like editing, design, and formatting help (among others). KDP will add these features in the future”.  
I’ll defintely be checking out the KDP paperback publishing service, once it offers the services I already have with Createspace. It may save me some time in the long run.
At the end of the day, it’s up to personal choice and what works for you as an author.

Thanks for reading and feel free to comment below…

 

 

Leave a Reply

