books · oath of god · personal stuff · research · self-publishing · vastian lore · writing

Complexities of Writing a Novel…

Featured Image -- 954Ok, so I’ve written several short stories, a few first drafts and a novella, which I published through Createspace and Amazon.

Writing a novella wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be.

Detail is still detail…

Once, Vastian Lore was edited I began to realise how I lacked in the description stakes. I did a lot of underwriting, mainly because I had all the information in my head and just assumed readers would be able to see it too. Only, it doesn’t work like that. There is such a thing as lacking the essentials. There are many things I could have and probably should have done differently with Vastian Lore, but since I re-edited and re-formatted the book, I feel it’s best to leave it alone. It’s out there now. No going back. I’ve got bigger fish, books to fry…Or write!

Hence, the whole strains and stresses of writing a full-length novel and having to keep all the details straight, make notes, do research and remember to fill in all the plot holes, so readers don’t fall into the blackness of underwriting.

The main thing I’ve noticed since beginning to write, oh decades ago now, (but I didn’t take it seriously until I was in my twenties), it’s the research element. I mean, I’ve held a sword before, but I haven’t fought with one. I need to know about balance, how swords are made and different ways of fighting. I’ve grown my own vegetables and herbs, but there is loads to learn in that department too. My brother keeps and breeds chickens, and ducks, so if I need to pick his brain about that stuff, I will. I know how to use tools. Build a shed? Easy peasy, but I’ve never had to think about economics before. Especially, if the world you create is less than ideal for straight forward battering, growing of crops and the selling of goods. I’ve had to think with Oath of God. How a small group of people survive, feed themselves, get weapons, get the metal for the weapons, who makes them, what is the fuel for the forge, how is it gathered…The list is extensive and so much has to be woven into the story, so as not to make it sound like some sort of fantasy-style shopping list!

These details must be a part of the story itself, built into the plot and seemlessly connected with the chracters, the surroundings, background and not stand out like a sore thumb. I don’t want to bore readers by going through a long process of extrenous detail.

As a writer, I still have a long way to go.

Oath of God was supposed to be published last year and much to my annoyance, Ill health and another operation has set me back. I’m pleased to say, I’ve set quite a few writing goals for this year and had stern words with myself to make sure I keep up. I usually write Monday-Friday, with weekends off for family time etc. I’ve chosen to ensure I write at least a thousand words on those days. If I’m too ill or have a migraine, I don’t beat myself over the head with a thesaurus or anything drastic like that. I take my life one day at a time, but writing is my main focus during the week.

I take time out to do other creative things, like my home projects, (doing up old furniture or artwork), taking a walk, messing about with the pooches, normal everyday stuff really!

Every writer approaches the writing process differently and some are able to publish more than one book a year, which I think is awesome and really wish I could make that one of own targets…I’m working on it. 2017 should see the publication of two books, minimum.

And I intend to accomplish this goal!! 🙂


Thanks for reading, please free to comment below… 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

