books · editing · oath of god · personal stuff · proofreading · reading · self-publishing · wolf born · writing

Writing Goals!

Okay, so far I haven’t really posted much this year, mostly because I haven’t had much to say! Now, I’ve got a plan…A dastardly, I mean cunning plan for my writing goals!

I didn’t achieve everything I wanted in 2016. In fact, I think last year was pretty dismal with regards to writing. I got a lot of other things done, like gaining a Diploma, having yet another back operation, being diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and a couple of months before Xmas a pipe burst in the kitchen, flooding all of the downstairs, which meant redecorating and new flooring, new furniture etc. If it weren’t for good friends and helpful family members, I don’t think we’d have gotten through all of the chaos with out sanity intact.

At the moment, I have a desk at the top of the landing, mainly because there is nowhere else to put it and our landing is quite spacious, so it’s not in the way too much. Now, I have an actual desk, the meds are kicking in for the pain and I can concentrate on getting some writing done. I can actually see the faint glimmer of the finish line regarding Oath of God, and I’ve been making plans for my second WIP, Wolf Born, which is already part way through its final drafting, just got to clarify the niggling little details and make sure the continuity is smooth and consistent.

I wouldn’t say writing is easy, and it takes a lot of editing, re-writing and detailing to get the story just right. However, I do find when I’m in the flow of writing, I can get lost to the passing of time and thoroughly enjoy spending time with my characters, whom I consider friends, when they’re behaving, of course! ;D I even enjoy writing the antagonist roles, I like to enrish their backgrounds and not just have them as cardboard ‘bad guys’!

In the next month or so, I’ll have a definite release date for Oath of God and the reveal of the finished cover and hopefully the blurb as well.

Wolf Born should be released in the Summer, all going well.

Several short stories and a new series to follow.


 

Now, onto the business of what I’ve been getting up to, reading wise. I’ve had the pleasure of discovering some great books by self-published authors, such as Kara Jorgenson and Kate. M. Colby! Kara is speeding along with her Mechanical Devices Series and I recently got through Dead Magic in less than a day, it was that good. I did a review on Goodreads and thought to myself, this is my favourite yet, but I am a sucker for all things magic! Kate, has released a second book, The Courtesan’s Avenger and again, I finished this one in record time, I loved the story and the characters and once more, reviewed on Goodreads.

Please, head over and check out my reviews: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13952437.S_C_Gregory

I’ve also started on the Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children Series by Ransom Riggs and have finished the first book, and am now onto the second. These are taking me slightly longer to read, but they’re pretty good books. I wouldn’t say they’re horrors, as they are being advertised so glibly, but there are striking moments within the story and the characters are thoroughly engaging.


 

I’m finally getting through my Japanese research and plan on a some future blogs detailing what I’ve learnt in the process, likely to be posted alongside the release of the book: OoG.


 

Thanks for reading!

Have a great weekend!

🙂

2 thoughts on “Writing Goals!

Leave a Reply

