books · changes · editing · oath of god · personal stuff · proofreading · self-publishing · short stories · wolf born · writing

Getting My Act Together!

So…I haven’t been around much lately. This has been due to a few life priorites taking over and the fact Xmas is fast approaching!

The ‘flood’ happened over a month ago and with the lax abilities of the insurance company, it took longer than expected for the money to come through, so we could sort out all the damage caused by the scourge of water. Finally, we’ve completed one room and the second is almost there. I’ve managed to get the Xmas tree up and baked some mince pies. So far, so good. The only problem, writing took a backseat during the frenzy of DIY. I did squeeze some in, but not as much as I’d have liked and my plans for 2016 went right out the window. I haven’t got my book finished or published and now the deadline is the New Year, with a publishing date more likely to be March 2017.

On a lighter note, I now have an actual writing area and a desk. This is better for me as I’m used to having a more formal setting in which to write. It helps me focus and be more productive knowing I have an ‘official’ space. Maybe, it’s the Admin Assistant in me, but having a designated area where I can leave my laptop and a previous day’s work out and waiting for the next writing day, is very helpful to my productivity.

I’m well over half way through the final draft for Oath of God, with the plot finally coming together and a few twists and turns added for that all important interest factor. After completion, a final edit and proofread will begin and the final push will start. I’ll be publishing ebook and paperback versions, with competitions and blog posts along the way. Afterwards, Wolf Born will be finished up and I’m hoping *fingers crossed* I’ll managed to get that one out in 2017 as well.

Unfortunately, I’m not always the quickest of writers and I spend a long time trying to make sure the writing is engaging and the story os worth telling as well as reading.

With my new desk space, I’m thinking the writing will flow more easily and swiftly.

That’s the plan, anyway.

A couple of short stories are in the works and planned for next year.

A few little extras: I’m getting my own domain next year and planning on sprucing up my media sites with better artwork. I’m planning on new covers for some of my short stories and getting a newsletter through wordpress sorted out as well.

Blogging should be more regular now, with at least one post a week, possibly two.

Hope everyone has a good holiday and a happy New Year! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Getting My Act Together!

  1. Haha, my word count for this month has been about 700. Cold weather pretty much keeps me out of my writing spot. Probably need to think about moving inside, but it’s a lot harder that way for some reason. MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

Leave a Reply

