Cogsmith's Daughter · Kate M Colby · Reviews · self-publishing · vastian lore · writing

Reviews And Other News!

Hey there! First things first, I’ve just recieved another review for Vastian Lore as a result of the competition I ran a few months ago. Thanks to Allison!! Here’s the link to the post, if anyone would like to check it out: https://allisonthewriter.wordpress.com/2016/09/11/review-vastian-lore-by-s-c-gregory/#more-7258



 

There’s a lot going on right now. Writing and other stuff. There’s a lot to organise when self-publishing because as the writer, you are also responsible for getting the cover sorted, editing and also getting a professional critique, whether that is an Editor or Beta readers and in many cases all of the above. You’re also in charge of the marketing (which I’m rubbish at, by the way) and also keeping a blog and website up to date with all the relevant info. It can be daunting, but it’s also the one thing that keeps me focused and pries me out of bed in the morning. Despite illness, pain and chronic fatigue, if I didn’t have my writing, I’m not sure what I’d do. Getting lost in a world of fantasy is a great release.



READING…

On other news, I’ve just read a great new book by Kate M Colby, titled: The Cogsmith’s Daughter. It’s a fantasy based story with Steampunk overtones and plenty of mystery. It opens up onto a whole new world and introduces some really great characters. I’ve put a review on Goodreads and Amazon:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Cogsmiths-Daughter-Desertera-1-ebook/dp/B015TUD7WS

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/

Here’s the blurb for the book:

In a desert wasteland, one king rules with absolute power and unquenchable lust, until the cogsmith’s daughter risks everything for vengeance.

Two-hundred years ago, the steam-powered world experienced an apocalyptic flood. When the waters dried up, the survivors settled around their moored steamship in a wasteland they named Desertera. Believing the flood and drought were caused by a scorned goddess, the monarchs demanded execution for anyone who commits the unforgivable sin—adultery. 

I really enjoyed this book. It had believable characters and great plot. The dialogue was really good and realistic. I particularly enjoyed the banter between Dellwyn and Aya. The main character was feisty and infused with a rod of steel in her personality, but she also had doubts and fears of her own. That is what made her a well rounded person and not just a cardboard cut-out character. This was a really great read and I couldn’t put it down until I’d finished.



 

Okay, that’s me for now!!

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Reviews And Other News!

  1. Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I’m so pleased you enjoyed the novel and am excited to hear your thoughts on the sequel.

    And congratulations on getting a nice review for your own book, too!

Leave a Reply

