books · cover reveal · editing · editting and proofreading course · oath of god · personal stuff · self-publishing · writing

What I’ve Learned: Writing & Life…

Hey there!! Soooo, I’ve finally smashed through the halfway mark in Oath of God. I know, I’m running late with this WIP, but I’m pushing through the barriers, mental and physical and noting all the little details that will need to placed into the manuscript during the editing process. I’ve got a deadline in my head, but I’m not sharing, mainly to avoid the embarassment of having to admit I’ve missed it.

When I first started writing seriously I was *coughs* 24 years old and thought, hey, this is easy. I’ll get an agent, no problem. I’ll be published and I’ll make it big…Anyway, needless to say, that didn’t happen and it took a further 10 years for me to gather my wits and self-publish. I’ve been writing stories since I was about 7 years old and dabbled in the creative process on and off over the years of my life. I’m just now thinking of myself as an author.

My first few stories were full of stereotypes and cliches, with some really terrible dialogue and a wishy washy story that didn’t really go anywhere and just sort of fizzled out. Getting those rejection letters from agents was a kick in the teeth and I felt rejected at first, but when I stopped to think about it, I agreed that my writing needed work and enrolled in a Creative Writing Course. I’ve since done a Diploma in Editing and Proofreading and found that it helped me to get a handle on the whole editing process, which I had found previously daunting. It helps me find clarity in the convoluted mess of early drafts.

With my recent diagnosis of Fibromyalgia, I’ve had a few more setbacks with my health and discovered a few striking facts about medication. In many cases there are no specific medications for Fibromyalgia and you end up being prescribed tablets originally designated for those with depression. These meds are also used as painkillers, especially for those people like me who are sensitive or allergic to other types of painkillers and don’t really want to be on mind numbing morphine. It’s astonishing that these meds can make some conditions worse and in my case prevent you from being able to urinate *Wonderful, I say sarcastically* and others which give you more pain than you had before. All of this has held back the writing process as I’ve been back and forth to the doctors so many times these past few weeks, I’m sick of the sight of the place.

On a lighter and more interesting note, I’ll be doing my cover reveal for Oath of God mid-September and would love for volunteers to offer their WordPress site for hijacking…I mean reblogging the reveal!! *grins* If you’d like to join in the fun, let me know or DM me at https://twitter.com/scgregory80 . Thanks!!  😀

 

4 thoughts on “What I’ve Learned: Writing & Life…

Leave a Reply

