artwork · books · editing · oath of god · self-publishing · vastian lore · wolf born · writing

Book Covers and the Editing Process…

I’m really excited, but it’s also difficult not being able to reveal the amazing artwork that’s being completed even as I type this post! It’s odd, though, and also brilliant, how having an idea in your head and then discussing things with the artist, everything changes, for the better. The cover for Oath of God is even better than I imagined and the artwork has also helped me to imagine a certain character in a different light, which I think also fits better with the overall story and history I’m trying to portray.

I’m eager to show everyone the finished cover, but I know I’ve got to wait until the MS is complete and I’ve got everything figured for publishing, including proofreading and editing, which sometimes takes longer than writing the initial drafts! 😉

I’m taking a little more time with my writing because I want it to be as good as I can make it and I don’t want to publish before I’m ready and the book is ready.

Right now, I’m in the middle of the final draft for Oath of God and I’m dealing with the plot, which is trickier than I first imagined because I wanted to portray a few things in more detail and there’s also the history and myth of the world to research and manage.

Wolf Born, my other project, which is a novel based on the world in my novella: Vastian Lore, is moving along, but I’ve had a few issues with the POV’s for my other characters. I don’t want to complicate the story with too many character arcs, but I need a different view from my protagonist and it’s been harder than I thought to get the balance right.

My plan is to get Oath of God published first because it should be completed quite soon. Then, I’m hoping to do a cover reveal and a blog tour, which I’m a bit nervous about, but I think that’s mainly because I don’t enjoy marketing. I know it needs to be done, though.

Wolf Born should be out by the end of this year, if all goes well. I’m not pushing things, just going with the flow.

Editing, as readers of this blog probably know, is not a task I particularly enjoy, but again, needs to be done. I usually print off the pages and read through them and speak aloud, especially for my dialogue sections because I feel this helps my own process and editing.

Everyone has their own formula and method because we’re all unique indivduals 😉

Anyhow, best get back to my wip!

Thanks for reading 🙂

12 thoughts on “Book Covers and the Editing Process…

  1. Ugh–editing. My greatest writing fantasy is to get so good one day that I can just do a light edit someday on drafts and call it good. I’ve spent sooo much more time editing than actually writing. And I love drafting.

    Keep on keeping on. We’ll all get where we’re going in time. 🙂

    1. 😀 Thanks for the support! I think writers needs to help each other out because it can be quite lonely tapping away and creating a story by yourself! I think I spend way too much time talking to my dogs, just so I can pretend I’m not talking to myself! 😉

      1. It can, I agree! I feel so much more motivation when having the support of others too. 🙂
        Haha, I’m sure you’re dogs love it. 🙂 My cats stare at me when I talk to them, it’s funny. 😀

Leave a Reply

