Adela's Curse · books · claire m banschbach · interview · self-publishing · writing

Interview with Claire M Banschbach

Readers of this blog will probably have noticed I posted a cover reveal for Adela’s Curse a while back and I’ve also been given the opportunity and great honour of interviewing the author herself. This post will indeed prove interesting…and I’m quite sure, enlightening.

Here’s a little information and an introcution to my authorial guest:

Claire Banschbach was born and raised in Midland, TX, the fourth of eight children. She was homeschooled through high school and is now a proud member of the Texas A&M University class of 2014. She is currently working on her Doctorate of Physical Therapy at Texas Tech University Health Science Center. She continues to write in her spare time (and often when she doesn’t have spare time). She hopes her strong foundation in God will help to guide her writing. 

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Blog

And now…The questions and their most interesting answers!

You already have two books out at the moment, The Rise of Aredor and The Wildcat of Braeton, how have you found the whole process of being an author? 

It’s definitely fun. I went into it knowing it would be a lot of work, but I don’t think I really anticipated how much. I enjoy the writing process, but the marketing side not so much. It’s easy to get depressed when it comes to sales and such, but then you get a great review and think “I can do this author thing!” Maybe I’ll have a better answer one day when I’m not trying to split time between writing and graduate school.

Is your next book, Adela’s Curse set in the same world as the other two books, or is this is a completely different story?

It is a completely different story. Not just in terms of setting and characters, but also the fact that Adela’s Curse has magic and magical creatures. It was quite fun to write from that perspective

How have you found the whole process of self-publishing? I know formatting can be tricky.

Formatting was tricky! My cover designer was gracious enough to help me out with my questions. But other than that, I’ve actually really enjoyed it and the freedom that it brings. The control can be intimidating, but I have liked it so far.

Would you consider your work to be YA or simply written for all ages to enjoy?

My first audience is always my younger sisters, all of whom fall into the YA category right now, so I ultimately do consider it Teen/YA. But I’ve had multiple different age groups tell me that they love my books.

There are many who don’t consider writing to be a valid career choice, what are your thoughts?

Good question. It’s definitely difficult to break into. You obviously can’t go in expecting to be a best seller overnight. But I think that you can make it work if you really love it and are willing to put in the time and effort – just like any other career choice. You might have to balance another job for a while in order to pay the bills, but I think if you can get to the point where you can support yourself by writing, then why the heck not?

How does your course in Physical Therapy work side-by-side with your writing?

It’s more like PT school is driving the bus and writing is sitting way in the back. This semester I have more assignments due that are taking up a lot of time that I could use for writing, so I haven’t gotten much writing done at all lately. But I definitely enjoy the time I get to dedicate to writing, and I think PT school has really helped with small details. For instance, if a character has an old injury, I can figure out how he’s going to walk. Or, probably most importantly for an action/adventure writer, how to make injuries realistic and structure a plausible recovery

I’ve heard, coffee is the author beverage of choice, do you have a preference of drink/comfort food?

I actually don’t fall into the writerly “cliché” of being a voracious coffee or tea drinker. I rarely, if ever, drink either (but more likely to drink coffee). I drink a lot of water and have my giant glass with me pretty much at all times. As far as snack of choice? Goldfish crackers. I will grab a giant handful/cupful or have even been known to pour a pile directly into my shirt. Lol!

If you had to pick a genre, which would be your most favourite to read?

Fantasy, definitely. But I do enjoy historical fiction especially if set in the Medieval ages or Ancient era.

Many writers have a chosen spot/desk/sofa where they write. Do you have such a place? And why is it important? 

I shuffle between my desk or the couch. Just wherever I’m comfy and I feel like I can focus at the time is where I set up shop.

And finally, what books have you read lately that have made a real impression on you as a reader?

I feel like I haven’t really read many books recently… Definitely Blood Song by Anthony Ryan which was a re-read in January. It’s a tremendous book. I really enjoyed Storming by K.M. Weiland which I read last December. I just read a Christian Dystopian novel Counted Worthy by Leah E. Good and while I’m not really “into” the dystopian genre, my eyes definitely threatened to start leaking at the end, which doesn’t happen all too often.

Thanks for having me over, Steph!

You’re very welcome, Claire.


 

Adelas Curse KINDLE for my blog

A curse. A murderous scheme. A choice.

A witch and her master capture a young faery and command her to kill their enemy. Adela has no choice but to obey. If she does not, they will force the location of her people’s mountain home from her and kill her. To make matters even worse, the person she is to kill is only a man struggling to save his dying land and mend a broken heart.

Count Stefan is a man simply trying to forget the woman he loves and save a land crippled by drought. When a mysterious woman arrives at his castle claiming to be a seamstress, he knows she is more than she seems.

Adela enlists the help of Damian, another faery, to try and delay the inevitable. He insists she has a choice. But with the witch controlling her every move, does she?

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29085448-adela-s-curse


 And there’s more…

Unlock the rest of the series!

Discover more of the magical world of Myrnius!

5 new newsletter subscribers by Wednesday, March 9, to get a sneak peak of Book 2!

Newsletter link: http://eepurl.com/bhArR9

10 Facebook likes by Friday, March 11, for a first look at Book 3!


 

 Giveaway!

3 winners! Prizes include 2 copies of Adela’s Curse, and a paperback version of The Rise of Aredor to celebrate its 2 year anniversary on March 11! Open to international entries.

 <a class=”rcptr” href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d11da96b3/&#8221; rel=”nofollow” data-raflid=”d11da96b3″ data-theme=”classic” data-template=”” id=”rcwidget_px6v2icb”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>

https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

 OR if you have a finicky WordPress site like me, here’s a direct link.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d11da96b3/?


Participating Blogs for the Tour

And if anyone would like to check out the rest of the awesome stuff going on, please follow the link and enjoy the fun!

https://clairembanschbach.wordpress.com/blog-tour-schedule/

 

12 thoughts on “Interview with Claire M Banschbach

Leave a Reply

