editing · novels · oath of god · Scrivener · self-publishing · vastian lore · wolf born

Scrivener and Scribbling!

Right! *coughs to clear throat* It’s decided. I’m going to use Scrivener for my secondary project Oath of God. By hook or by crook, I’m going to figure this out and utilise this tool.

To make life easier for me, I’ll be printing off the pages relevant to me as a guide and probably using a highlighter pen. I find this makes it easier for me to keep track of the essential notes needed for the sections of Scrivener I’ll be using the most. I find, for me anyway, learning through doing is much better than trying to absorb reams of paperwork and long paragraphs of text.

The plan is that Scrievener may help me get the first draft completed quicker.

Also, having all my research in one place is a neat idea.

Anyhow, onto the scribbling aspect of this post…It’s the notebook saga really. That’s what it should be called. I usually have a notebook or more than one for each book or story, and they’re usually full of notes, plans, plots, sketches and even post it notes stapled inside.

The thing is, I’m not much of a detailed planner, but I’m not really a pantser either. I like to know the vague outline of a story, like beginning, middle and end, which is helpful. But, it’s not like I make a spreadsheet and do a timeline or anything. (I probably should do that, but don’t…) And all my stories are subject to change. This generally happens when a new character is introduced and instead of staying in the background like they’re supposed to, they jump in with both feet and suddenly they’re one of the main characters. Or during the edits additions need adding because there’s a hole in the plot that needs filling. Those kinds of things. There’s also a great deal of tension when writing a book. Not knowing if it will even be read, even though, my other works have been fortunate enough to gain the attention of readers, there’s still a niggling doubt eating away at the back of my mind.

And Wolf Born is nothing like Vastian Lore because for one, the latter was a novella, while the former will be a full-length novel. I’ve got more room to spread out the story, add way more detail to both character and world building. In a way that’s great. In another, it kind of makes things harder. There has to be balance. For instance, I’m not big on those huge paragraphs of backstory/scene detail/ or character description. I don’t like large chunks of text in books I read. Makes me suddenly tired and then nothing sinks in and I have to go back and re-read bits, which can be annoying because as a reader I just want to enjoy the story and find out what the heck is happening.

And this is why I suffer from the writerly condition known as, underwriting and end up having to add 5,000 extra words to a novella because I haven’t put in enough detail, especially on the magical aspects of my work, oh and the occasional demon. It’s all swings and roundabouts. A major reason for having a professional editor who can highlight those parts of my work that require more structure, or to erase those few bits of overwriting. It’s not as bad as the lack of information, but it can be a pain.

I usually break up my writing into smaller paragraphs.

In action, I use shorter sentences.

And sometimes even short paragraphs, which are basically just a sentence.

In the past, I’ve used way too many commas and rambled pointlessly.

I’m not really a fan of semicolons and rarely use them.

I don’t mind reading a book and finding changes of scene within the same chapter, but as a writer I don’t tend to use them and usually move onto to a new chapter instead.

(that’s not to say, I never use them, but it’s rare)

I wish I had a dragon in the garden…Oh, wait! No, that’s not really relevant to this post.

Is it?

😉

And now…I’m off to finish that WIP.

Thanks for reading and feel free to leave a comment, especially if it’s magical! 😀

 

2 thoughts on “Scrivener and Scribbling!

Leave a Reply

