books · changes · editing · novels · oath of god · personal stuff · self-publishing · wolf born · writing

Writing A Novel…Eventually.

 

cliffhanger
Kind of feel I should stick this disclaimer at the end of pretty much all my stories.

I’ve got this serious affliction where I’m averse to, what I would call, sugary endings.

It’s not that I haven’t appreciated the nice bow-wrapped endings of other books in the past, but it’s just not my own personal style to finish my work that way.

Maybe, it’s a flaw? I don’t know.

I’ve tried it. And it makes me feel kind of itchy. Like there’s something nagging at my conscience. It doesn’t feel right for a lot of my stories to have neat endings.

Or perhaps I’m some sort of writerly sadist?

No, it’s not that. I’m pretty sure. Well, 99.9%.

Honest, I don’t want to leave unanswered questions. It’s just…Sometimes it happens.

I know. I know. That’s weak.

However, I can’t make any promises my next WIP’s won’t have cliffhangers. In fact, one of them kind of hinges on there being a major shock factor element to provide a basis for book two in that series. I can say, the second WIP will, I hope, have a solid conclusion because that one is supposed to (I say this…but you never know) be a standalone book.

Back to the point of the title for this blog. I have to admit that writing a full length novel of 100,000 words or so is no easy task. There are more timelines to consider than in a short story and because I’m moving between several characters and their thoughts, it means I have to keep a handle on all their differing personalities/traits/quirks. There is also the tricky task of making sure the plot doesn’t have majorly gaping holes and that it makes sense. I’ve already had to make changes to the original first draft, eliminate one character entirely and shift around some of the chapters. Editing and smoothing issues is often a lot harder than going through the crazy euphoria of scribbling down that first draft.

I’m way behind where I want to be. My deadlines have all been pushed back. Way back. This is mainly due to moving and health issues/hospital appointments. I have a large prolapse in my back that is pressing on the sciatic nerve and may need surgery, (plus a host of other back problems, including a dehydrated disc) so I have to get a handle on these WIP’s because I don’t know what will happen in the next few months.

My plan, which is very vague at the moment, is to get Wolf Born ready for proofreading and editing, then get on to finishing Oath of God. That way, both should be *fingers crossed* ready for publishing one after the other, with a short break in between, of course.

Wish me luck 😉

And thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “Writing A Novel…Eventually.

Leave a Reply

