editing · personal stuff · wolf born · writing

Flumping…

Well, basically I just made that up! However, it pretty much describes me early in a morning, on weekends and school holidays, when I do a lot of writing in my pyjamas. It’s not for everyone, but it works for me. If I waited until a realistic wake-up call, the house would be full of noise, will everyone jostling for space and attention. I like quiet when I work, even the dog snoring can get annoying (to be fair Gizmo is a loud snorer). Anyhow, I’ve been known to get out 2-3,000 words whilst in my pyjamas, which in my view is a pretty good formula for productivity. And I have set myself with two WIP’s to complete.

On a side note, I’ve got this 24hr blood pressure monitor on today, which will prove interesting and also distracting with it squeezing my arm at periodic intervals, not to mention that weird, whining noise the machine makes. Oh, and I’ve got the temperamental one. Luckily, I’ve only got to wear it until tomorrow morning. (basically, I’ve been told I have abnormally high blood pressure for my age. I could have told the doctor I’m a bit abnormal anyway, but don’t think it would have gone down well)

I really need to hit the 40k mark this week and get Wolf Born completed before the end of the month. Not sure how I’m going to accomplish that amazing feat, but I’ll give it a go. One sure way of hitting my goal will be to avoid spending too much time on social media. That way, I should get in at least 2-4,000 words a day, if I’m not doing a few other jobs around the house (if I don’t do the washing there will a distinct lack of clothing) and I’ve got a couple of DIY jobs to do in the school break. However, I’ll endeavor to complete my first WIP of the year in good time.

I’m also checking out Copy Editing courses. You know, because I don’t have enough to keep me busy on a regular basis. 🙂

Seriously, though, I’m thinking to help out other self-published writers with a decent service at an affordable price.

Plus, I can still do my own writing and my stay-at-home chores. 🙂

Anyhow, back to the writerly grindstone 😀

Thanks for reading! And feel free to comment…

7 thoughts on “Flumping…

  1. If ‘flumping’ isn’t in the dictionary by 2017, I’ll be disappointed. Cheers to writing in pajamas, though! I get to do that 3/7 days a week 😀 Do you have a projected final word-count for Wolf Born?

    1. I know, right? Flumping should definitely be a word!
      Originally, under a different title, a long time ago, the draft came out at 120,000 words or so. However, I’m thinking it will be closer to 80,000- 100,000. What with rewrites and the cutting of all the ‘fluff’ 🙂
      How’s your own WIP progressing?

      1. Great! I’m hoping to hit 40k by the end of the week. *fingers crossed* I think self-publishing allows writers to choose their word length rather than have to stick to the regimented word count of say, traditional publishers? I’m just going with the flow and see what happens 😀

  2. Okay…So I just looked up the word flumping. Not only is it a real world it is also on urban dictionary and I’m really disgusted right now. I would advise you to avoid looking it up on there. Why do people have to take a real word and turn it into something gross? Anyways, I wish you luck with getting your WIP done before the end of the month. 🙂

    1. Errr…Being the curious type (yeah, I know, the cat analogy springs to mind!) And I have to agree, the urban dictionary’s version of the word is highly gross! :S
      Thanks!! I’m on the third draft, so I’m hoping all the kinks have been smoothed out, but it all depends where the characters and story takes me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

