self-publishing · vastian lore · wolf born · writing

Self-Publishing

It is no mean feat to get published. Traditionally, you need an agent and a publisher. There’s nothing easy about accomplishing that! It can take a long while to achieve the end product of a saleable book, even with the aid of an editor, cover designer and paid proofreaders.

Self-publishing, however, is a full-time job in itself. You have to be the writer/creator, the intitial editor, the agent who finds the publisher and cover designer and marketer. Usually, on a frayed shoe-string budget at risk of snapping under the load. You must create social media accounts, a website, build a following, a platform, a brand…etc.etc.

It’s a lot of hard work, graft, perseverance and even edurance to go the distance. To trawl the internet to find that elusive editor you can a) afford and b) will do justice to all you hard work. A person you can relate to and work with on a project that is close to your heart and always on your mind.

Then, there’s the cover. There are numerous sites out there who provide pre-made covers at various cost and I’m a member of one that is quite good, although I have yet to purchase a cover from them. I do like the options they have and quality of their product. I did use Amazon’s Cover Creator for my short story: Sorceress of Demon’s Wood, but for Vastian Lore I found a great artist who provided me with personalized cover, which did justice to the story and looked good on the paperback editions as well.

All of this can be daunting and it takes a person of true grit and determination to keeping working. To keep writing. Plugging that book/s. To keep inventing stories and striving to be heard, seen, noticed at all.

It’s not for everyone and I’ve had days where I wanted to quit, but if I had, I wouldn’t have found all of the amazing writers on Twitter/Facebook and I’d never have achieved my goal of publishing. The ideas would have stayed in my head and never seen the light of day. I think that would have been a shame. A sadness not to attain at least one dream. To be an author.

I’m aiming for bigger and brighter things. To publish more books and push myself all the harder in 2016!

Thanks for reading everyone 🙂

Comments always welcome…

 

2 thoughts on “Self-Publishing

    1. That’s the site address for the one I’m a member of at the moment. I’ve found a few interesting covers on there, but I think it depends what you’re looking for. :)http://www.selfpubbookcovers.com/

Leave a Reply

