Competition · editing · personal stuff · self-publishing · Wattpad · writing

Just Be Yourself

As a writer you should really attempt to find your own ‘voice’. This is a piece of advice I’ve heard and read quite a lot since I restarted my writing after a short break of about five years…*embarassed cough*

Anyhow, getting back on track. When I began this foray into writing a novel, I had all this grand ideas about getting an agent etc.etc…And, well, needless to say, there were a few rejection slips and a session of deep mourning for the story I had created. After wallowing in self-pity for about a month, I took another look at my WIP and realised I wasn’t ready to become an author. I decided to re-write the whole thing. I made-up new stories, worked on those and just enjoyed the writing process. All with eventual traditional publishing in mind.

Along came baby number three and everything ground to a halt. It was nappy changing, steralising bottles and recovering from an emergency caeserean section and getting back into shape. Several other life-changing events followed and writing sank further and further back into the depths.

Then, my eldest suggested Wattpad and I thought, hey, why not? I wrote a couple of short stories and the beginnings of two full-length drafts. I got good, constructive commentary and the writing flowed. I had matured and learnt so much over the last few years. I hadn’t sat idle. I’d read books on editing and writing. I’d sketched a few ideas, but it wasn’t until I had a ruptured prolapse that everything came into focus for me.

If I don’t at least try, I’ll always regret it.

So, I chewed over whether or not I should try out this self-publishing on Amazon thingy? And, voila! I have a short and a novella on there now.

I’m glad I gave it a go. I can at least say, I did it!

It hasn’t been easy.

As readers of this blog know, formatting and editing have been a real pain for me over the last few months, but I’ve accomplished my goal of publishing a book. And I’m happy with the result.

However, I can’t rest on my laurels…

I’m working on two novels at the moment. One is pretty much complete and is in the editing stage. The second, I have to do research and solidify the plot some more, but Oath Of God is getting there, slowly but surely.

The artwork for the latter is commissioned. The cover for the Wolf Born is almost complete, just needs a spine and a back. Oh, and a blurb.

I’ve been letting a few hints escape on Twitter for #1lineweds

On a final note, the competition for a signed copy of Vastian Lore ended 5th December and two winners were announced. I’m pleased to say, I’ll be sending those off at the weekend. Fingers crossed for a speedy delivery.

As usual, if folks would like to leave a comment ot ask a writerly question, then by all means, please do so.

Thanks for reading 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Just Be Yourself

    1. Ahhh, thanks!! I started in 2004 and now I’m hooked on writing. Did the whole creative writing at college and learnt nothing really of how to write fantasy-based novels/stories. I’ve evolved and I hope improved. Some of my old work is cringe-worthy!!

      1. I took several creative writing courses during my BA english years, and I found I already knew most of what they taught just from hands-on experience. We writers learn a lot!

      2. That is very true!! 🙂 It is hard, though, to find your own style. I’ve read so many fantasy based books, from David Gemmel to Jacqueline Carey and they’ve blow me away with their writing. It can make one feel inadequate. But the key is to keep trying. That’s what I tell myself!

Leave a Reply

