editing · self-publishing · writing

Juggling Words

Well, I’ve had two sales so far for Vastian Lore, which is pretty great. It could have sold none at all and just sat there like some accusing lump on my Createspace account with a big fat zero on the sales report! I know my sales will come from mainly family and friends for the moment. That’s the way it works in the beginning. Well, for me, anyway.

It always amuses me how some claim family and friends aren’t very good critics, but they haven’t got my eldest for a proofreader. She takes no prisoners. She can be harsher than the professional editor. My dad wouldn’t tell me what I did was great if he didn’t genuinely like it and to be honest my dad isn’t an avid reader of books. For a clearer picture I’ll just explain that I left my proof at my mum and dad’s after Sunday lunch a couple of weeks ago and my mum text to let me know my dad was reading it. While I was horrified that he was attempting to go through a proof that needed some work on the interior formatting, I was pleased to find out he was actually enjoying the story. *score* My eldest on the other hand, pointed out the flaws such as spelling and missing out speech marks and if a sentence didn’t flow right. She has an aversion to commas. Well, the over use of them anyway. I also have the privilige of knowing some darn good writers, who let me know if there are issues with the story.

I know I’m very lucky to be able to have time to write, but some days it isn’t an enjoyable experience. There will always be doubts. Is the story good enough? Is it worth it? What if the whole thing sucks worse than a stale malteser you found under the bed and decided to eat it? (yes, I did that, when I was like six!) It was gross by the way. Anyhow, I think most writers have these doubts. I know I do. However, there’s always that little niggling thought in the back of mind that thinks I should really be thinking about sorting out a ‘real’ job in Admin (that thing I’m officially trained in) and set that up for when I no longer have to do the school run and about a million (over-exaggeration alert, but close…) appointments to the hospital for myself and my eldest. Maybe, I should learn to drive? Hah! How would we afford a second car? Oh, yeah, and my eyesight insn’t that great. If I do decide to have driving lessons, I’ll give everyone a head’s up, so they can stay home. 😉

Currently, as some of you may know, I’m working on a novel titled: Oath Of God and now I’ve realised the first draft needs a major shake-up. Chapters have been rearranged and some sections need to be moved around, which is probably why I’m procrastinating by writing my blog!

*sigh* Yup, I know. I really need to get back to writing.

Anyhow, thanks for reading everyone!!

Until next time… 🙂

Leave a Reply

