self-publishing

A Lesson In Formatting

Ok, so I’ve learnt a lot over the past few months. I’ve learnt how to avoid underwriting/overwriting. How to upload my tax info, how to format a document, and what I couldn’t do myself I had people around me who could.

Now, I’ve finally got the kindle version of Vastian Lore up and running and it is available to buy. The createspace file is still being reviewed to make sure it’s printable and then I will need to wait for the proof copy.

There’s been plenty of stress, on my part mainly, uploading the cover and making sure it looks good enough for print. So far, it looks pretty decent, given I’ve pulled in favours, got my artwork for free and my formatter is my husband. So, yeah, basically, it’s been hard work.

Luckily, Createspace tells you what it’s not happy with, you adjust and it updates. Simple you say? Well, yes, at least the site lets you know if there is a formatting issue, and you can rectify before print. Making those alterations can be a painful process of repetition, but at least now it’s done.

Now, I should be able to move onto my other projects and put my focus into the upcoming full length novel. Next time, I’m hoping experience will help me work quicker at formatting and uploading to createspace.

This is just a short post as I’m going off to have a well earned rest 🙂

Thanks for reading!!

Leave a Reply

