personal stuff · self-publishing

Looking Forwards…

Hey there everybody!! Apologies for not writing a blog lately, but the final read through and last section of editing for Vastian Lore has taken longer than I anticipated due to external events not related to writing.

There’s been jobs that need finishing in the new house, like putting up pictures, buying bed side tables, and little finishing touches, like glossing etc. Plus, we’ve been squeezing in family time bowling and last weekend went off to buy some bowling balls, just one of those things you do at the weekend! 🙂

I’ve had a few appointments to make, my eldest is having braces, so there are lots of trips to the orthodontist and my own personal excursions to the doctors (some days I wish I could avoid this, I always come out needing more tests, or more tablets…) and it’s been taking some precious writing time.

Anyhow, I’ve got part way through Chapter Five of Vastian Lore, formatting my MS and making sure I get the page breaks for chapers right etc. It’s been a little odd leaving it up to the laptop to automatically put in the spaces required on the first line of all my paragraphs, when I’m used to tapping the space bar five times…But I’ve just about got the hang of it now.

There have been quite a few cuts here and there, sharpening conversations and altering dialogue so it reads better and makes more sense, relates to the story and the characters as well as cutting out a few sections and the sentences that repeat themselves, all the overwriting/underwriting, without making the MS too sterile.

The cover is sorted, pretty much, the blurb done. I’m planning on getting the ebook version sorted by the weekend, and out by 3rd November. The paperback will take longer, waiting for the proofcopy and all that will put publication back a little, but both will be out in November for sure. I’ll update once I’m sure of a date.

There are always ups and downs in life, but my focus is on completing the novella and moving on to my next project, which will be my full length novel. I’m looking forward to finishing the final draft of that and hoping the formatting will be quicker and go more smoothly, once I’ve gained experience with publishing Vastian Lore. It’s all a learning curve and I’m always studying. It helps keep me busy and avoid the ironing. 😉

Seriously, though, writing is my job now, at least I’m hoping it will be! My husband made a good point the other day, while I was filling in an information sheet for my child’s school that also asked what job you did as a parent, and he said, If I don’t take my writing seriously enough to put that as my job, then who else will?

So, here goes!!

Thanks for reading!! 😀

2 thoughts on “Looking Forwards…

Leave a Reply

