self-publishing · writing

Working Odd Hours!

I just read a somewhat depressing article on the low incomes writers/authors get paid these days, and the word, poverty, was mentioned, as in most authors barely scrape a living, if they’re lucky enough to get that!

Not exactly the most encouraging of posts, I have to say. However, I wasn’t really expecting to be a millionaire, (not that I’d sniff at the opportunity…) but I really enjoy writing, and the thought that maybe, just maybe a few people who buy my work will like it and want more. The admin side and all the hard work that goes into making a book, such as the cover, blurb, title/fonts, formatting, all of that can be kind of scary and also a headache at times. Except, I sit back somedays and think, wait, this is my job, I get to disappear into new worlds, create all these great characters and tell their stories…This is what I do now? Wow, never thought of it like that…!!

I work part-time, and also have the full-time job of keeping a house, caring for the kids, animals, cooking, oh, and my other two loves, baking and craft, but I always write in the morning, unless something really important comes up, like a doctors appointment or the need for chocolate arises…That sort of thing! šŸ™‚

I also find myself writing at night, mainly because there isn’t much on t.v that entertains me, so working on my latest project is usually better!! There’s also those times when I’m sitting on the bus and I dream up a new story or make changes to my current WIP. Or when I’m walking and ideas pop into my head. I think about writing quite a bit, and definitely need my own office, just to keep all the notebooks in! šŸ˜€

It isn’t easy being a writer, or telling people that this is what you do, but I wouldn’t change it!!

Well, except for the editing bit. That I wouldn’t mind avoiding, if I could!!

Anyhow, thanks for reading all. I’ve got to get back at the novella!! šŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Working Odd Hours!

  1. The writer’s life is not an easy one. Some get paid a lot. Others not so much. There’s not a lot of in between though I hear some authors have found a way to do ok through self publishing so I suppose there’s some hope.

    1. I’ve noticed there is a rise in ‘hybrid’ publishing, and I follow one author who does this regularly (Michael J Sullivan), but he started out in self-publishing because for one reason or another he couldn’t get his Ryria series published traditionally. The route he has taken is working quite well for him and he is a great writer!!

      1. Have you read any on the Blog Battles we do on Tuesday? For me, they always give me inspiration, and a concrete reason to write that I have a hard time ignoring. šŸ™‚

      2. I’ve had a look at a few people’s blogs about the battles etc. but to be honest, what with the joint project I’m a member of and my novella, plus a few other projects, and the move, I’m finding time a little limited, if I want to fit everything in! šŸ™‚

      3. Boy, you’re not kidding! I’m glad I can get them in, but my schedule couldn’t hold another project. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

