Uncategorized

Editing Is Only The Beginning

Ok, so this may be my only blog this week as the greatly anticipated (and dreaded) move has finally arrived!

Right, let’s get down to business. Editing. Yeah, many writers, readers, and maybe most of the population may well believe that you write a first draft, get it edited, proofread, get a great Beta reader, and *poof* the story/book is all done! You can get it published, nothing left to do, you’ve got the cover, it’s all over, you can relax.

In reality, it’s nothing like that. At least not for me.

I’m right in the middle of rewriting the MS for my novella, utilising the suggested edits, adding all the bits and pieces to make the story the best it can be. I’ve said before that it’s not easy, and it isn’t. Writing isn’t for the faint hearted.Β After I’ve completed, then I’ll need it proofreading, it’ll need re-editing, checking for spelling and grammar. Adding extra wordage has proved diastrous for the beginning of my novella as the editor I had wanted more information, more detail on surroundings and that isn’t my style. I like to get right into the meat of the action and then lead from there. It threw me. I’ve had to delete the new additions as they just didn’t fit with what I wanted from my work! I’m left with a lot of doubt as to how I start my story. So far, I’ve got a first sentence I quite like, but it’s messed up my whole schedule.

I thought that having an editor would help my work, that it would allow me to make necessary changes and work with someone who would assist me with my story, so I could make it the best it could be.

Instead, I’ve been left with a lot of suggestions and no direction, and certainly no support.

I’ve come to the end of my tether. All I can do is finish the novella, and do all I can to make it work as a story.

I’ve got the artwork for the cover, but that’s just the wrapping, it’s what’s inside that counts.

The release date has been delayed. The move won’t help with all that, but I’m striving to get the finished novella out for Spetember. *fingers crossed*

I’ll update soon as I know more!

Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Editing Is Only The Beginning

  1. I am also a little worried that my WIP starts off too vague (decision I made on purpose to provide for some mystery). Good luck on your editing and finishing your book!

    1. The beginning of a story has a lot of pressure put on it. You’ve got to get the ever elusive ‘hook’ and it’s not always easy! I think you have to stick with the style that suits you best, personally, I like mystery! A lot of my other work, such as the flash fiction I do for the joint writer project I’m involved in doesn’t have these issues because there is less pressure to get it absoloutely perfect, whereas if you want to do self-publishing, you’re under pressure to make it the best of the best!! Everything is on your head, admin, advertising, the never ending to-do list!! I hope you’re WIP goes well! πŸ™‚

      1. Thank you πŸ™‚ And yes, I do like mystery presented in the books I read, so that’s probably why it trickles into my own writing.

      2. You’re very welcome!! Yeah, I do think what you read the most tends to filter down into your own writing! I read mostly fantasy, although I mix in a bit of Steampunk, Sci-Fi, and non-fiction, but the fantasy genre is my favourite, hence what goes into my work! πŸ™‚

    1. Yep, I’m not exactly impressed, as you can probably tell!! However, once we move and I have my own work space, things will move along! Finding an editor that can work with you and is great at their job is a treasure you really have to keep hold of! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

