personal stuff · writing

Sheffield Comicon

It’s an amazing place to be, surrounded by Stormtroopers, Jedi Knights, various Jokers, a Batman or two and even the crew of Firefly! With loads of stands selling awesome goodies, including Firefly Monoply (which we sadly missed out on because they sold out), posters, comics, graphic novels, jewellry, costumes, and quite a bit of Firefly stuff (do you spot a theme here?). Anyhow, there were guest talks from the likes of Chris Judge etc. (Stargate, just in case anyone’s wondering). There was the option to shell out some extra cash for a photo and signing from a few famous folks, including actors from Doctor Who, Star Wars and Torchwood. There were also some great artists and we managed to snag a cool poster with all the Doctor Who’s on there!!

I did notice that no-one was grumpy or unhappy. Everyone was having a good time, smiling, laughing, joking and just being themselves, whether that was dressed up as a character from a favourite show or movie, or just dressed in regular clothes and browising the stalls. It was a fun place to visit. We even had our photo took and I had a nice comment about my ‘Blue Sun’ top, which I’d thrown together in homage to, yep, you guessed it, Firefly. 🙂

Another interesting aspect of the Comicon was the few stalls I came across that were selling books under various genres, including Fantasy, Sci-Fi and Murder/Mystery. I presume these were all Self-published works, but I can’t be sure. I did pick up an interesting book by C. G. Hatton, titled, Residual Beligerence Thieves Guild: Book One that sounded interesting and the pages I had a read through were pretty good too! There was the opportunity to buy all four books for a discount, but to be honest, I have to read the first one and then see if I want to continue with the story. I don’t want a pile of books sitting around gathering dust because I made a hasty decision. All of us managed to pick up a few nice goodies and we spent a good chunk of our cash, but it was well worth it!

We’re definitely going next year and we want to take a look and see if the tickets are on sale yet!! 🙂

It did make me wonder if it would be worth it to hire a stand next year and try selling a few books, providing I can get this novella sorted and my novel, which is a WIP at the moment. Maybe, I’ll sell some artwork as well, posters and the like to add a little variety. It’s just a thought at the moment, though. Depends on the price of the hire and whether I’ll have anything worth selling.

We met some great people and gathered a few business cards, which we’ll be checking out ASAP!

All in all it was a great experience, one well worth repeating!

Anyhow, I’d best get back to my editing.

Thanks for reading 🙂

8 thoughts on “Sheffield Comicon

      1. Possibly a mix. The artist who has done my coverart for Vastian Lore, has offered to do some stuff and I also follow a few other artists, so maybe I can get a little mixed bag of different styles and images that relate to my work! 🙂

  1. Definitely try and get a booth for your book! It’s completely worth it! I’m about to go to my second Comic Con as a vendor. Not only is it a ton of fun to people watch, you get to talk to all sorts of people! I sell the artwork from my books as well, and people seem to like that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

