self-publishing · writing

Building Worlds Brick By Brick! Or Rather Word By Word!

It’s a diffcult thing to construct a whole new world out of the confines of your head, but as a writer, it’s something I really enjoy doing. Although, I don’t like to overcrowd my stories with too much detail condensed into overlong paragraphs that as a reader would make my eyes roll into the back of head until I fell into a boredom coma!

I’ve got a lot of notebooks full of detail, research, little scraps of paper stapled onto the pages with notes and sketches of weapons, sigils and other stuff that piques my writerly interest. When I write though, I do fall into the trap that because I know what’s in my head then readers will too! However, I haven’t met anyone yet who is actually psychic! So, as part of the whole editing process I have realised that I need to add more detail in certain areas and to clarify issues that would only confuse folks if I left them as they are. In that, my current WIP needs additions, which will mean a secondary edit afterwards. It’s a diffcult process, but one I’m seriiusly hoping will be worth it in the end. I want my story to be good and for readers to enjoy the experience.

There’s a lot of work to do. What with editing, redrafting, coverart, Createspace and all the other stuff going on lately, but writing is something I really enjoy doing. I like being in control of the process, well, as much as possible. Some things don’t always go to plan, but at the moment it’s on track right now, for the novella to be published by the end of August, keeping to my deadline.  That may change, but I’m doing my best to stick to my plan, however hopeful that may be. *fingers crossed*

The finished artwork for the cover was sent to me the other day by the artist and I have to say it’s looking really good. It’s pretty much perfect, in that it evokes the essence of what I wanted, and gives just a hint of what to expect from the story without giving too much away. I’m thrilled with the result and can’t wait to turn the artwork into a useable cover that will be unique to the book.

Back to world building, I quite like the style of Chris Bunch and how he could give just a hint, a few words or a sentence or two that would allow the reader to imagine the scene without too much heavy writing. This is what I hope to achieve in my own work. I’ve never skipped a single page of Chris Bunch’s Dragon Master series and that to me is the sign of a good writer, one who can draw in the reader and not let them go until the last page.

Another good writer is Kara Jorgenson and her latest creation, The Winter Garden. Her style is very different to Chris Bunch, with a different genre and a different way of writing, but Kara is very good at building worlds that are believable and characters that are diverse and intriguing. In that, Kara is an upcoming author well worth keeping an eye on to see what she comes up with next! I’m itching to read her next story!

Well, back to work and packing for the move!

Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

