personal stuff · self-publishing · writing

Novellas. Editing. Coverart.

Well, it’s been a busy week for me on the writing front. I’ve managed to get my short story and cover letter in for a competition being run by Michael J Sullivan to win the chance of getting my story published at the back of his new book! Not sure of I’ll even get close, but it’s always worth a shot. If I didn’t at least try, I’d be kicking myself for not giving it a chance. The deadline was 16th July and I just made it! *phew*

Anyhow, what else? Oh, yeah, I’m near enough done with my novella, Vastian Lore. Self-editing now and need to be sorted by end of today of possible, given the editor kindly pencilled me in for the 20th and his next slot isn’t until September. So, I need to pull my finger out. There’s not all that much left, really, a little tidying, some tightening of conversations, extra detail here and there, the odd explanantion without it being dull as dishwater. You know, the kinds of thing you think are important, and just have to squeeze in. Yep, there are a few of those moments too.  I’m sure the editor will let me know what’s rubbish and what’s worth keeping, but I don’t want to make their job any harder than it needs to be, so there’s been some cutting as well.

There’s been quite a bit of progress on the artwork and cover design for Vastian Lore. The artist, Becky Hargreaves really gets where I’m coming from and understands the sort of aesthetic I wanted to convey. One that would draw the reader to the story and also show what possibilities lay inside those pages. There’s still a way to go. Art isn’t just a quick snap of the fingers any more than writing a good story is. I’m eager, though, to get the final design and see it on the cover of my first offficial hardcopy.

This is just a taster of what’s to come…

resized artwork 3 for Vastian Lore 2015

I’m sure many of you will agree it’s intriguing! 🙂

A little bit of personal stuff…I’m not sure how many of you have read my past blogs and whether you know of the potential move of residence to a new house? But, that is still on. There was an issue with the original property, so we have gone for a different house instead. One that needs less work and the garden isn’t on a hill.

Naturally, there’s the usual upheaval of daily life etc. All of that takes a toll and often takes priority. I find it hard to stay up late right now due to a few health issues, but once these are sorted/regulated, I’m hoping to get back to communicating with those friends/followers who live overseas and are seperated by the timezone problem that can get in the way sometimes.

All in all, I’m looking forward to the experience of self-publishing my novella and all the hard graft that will entail. I’m looking at it as an adventure into new possibilities. There’s also the new cover for Sorceress due to be sorted in the Autumn and a new short story around that as well. I’m hoping to get my novel out in 2016.

It’s all happening now!!

Thanks for reading 🙂

2 thoughts on “Novellas. Editing. Coverart.

    1. Thanks! 🙂 I don’t expect to win, but if you don’t take part, well, I’d regret it.
      The artwork is really coming along. I’m quite pleased it’ll be original to the book! 🙂

Leave a Reply

