writing

*Sigh*…

I don’t know, I really don’t. *shakes head in disbelief*

It all boils down to the basic fact that as writers/authors we all have to take critism at some point. Once you release your story out into the wilds of reality and folks get to read it, some will ineviatably suggest improvements, may not like it, or point out mistakes, such as spelling and grammar. This is something I’ve learnt to accept and process in order to improve my work and make it better for readers.

The thing that grates is when a writer is quite happy to critique your work, but if you offer advice (and I am always polite and diplomatic) they get defensive and actually type out what’s in their head, making them come across as rude and basically ignorant. Now, I may rant a bit, in private, when I get a comment I don’t like, but I certainly don’t spit in someone’s face or send a message being defensive and rude etc. I go through all comments I recieve and think about my responses carefully.

I do get annoyed when people don’t read my posts correctly or my work and say something which proves they didn’t read it or merely scanned it and missed the point of said post/story. However, I appreciate all replies and comments I recieve and all the links people send me. It makes me sad that others don’t appreciate a link I may send them and basically rip it to shreds, while failing to see the benefit of the adivce within the said link.

One bone of contention I really have is that there are many out there who believe that the only way to show tension in a story is to have blood spurting all over the place, people being shot to pieces or being tortured. In my view, this is not the only way to put tension in a story. For example: tension can be shown in dialogue, in what a character may NOT say, but rather infer or suggest. There’s also tension in mystery and facial expression/reactions of characters. The hiding of secrets. It doesn’t have to be all blood and gore.

Now, as writers, we are all different. Personally, I don’t mind fighting/battle scenes and find many to be quite enjoyable, but those elements are not the entirety of a story, but rather a facet of the whole.

When I first started out my work was very steroetyped and had a lot of cardboard characters. A fact I am quite prepared to admit. I started out 11 years ago, when I was in my early twenties. My writing was full of cliches and bad dialogue, with characters acting out very poor storylines. There was unecessary violence and certain sexual scenes that were merely for shock factor rather than decent quality. Style over substance wasn’t even an issue because there was neither. I worked hard to improve my style, to bring out my ‘voice’ and to learn all the various skills I needed to be a better writer. However, some folks just don’t seem to get that.

We must all find our own path, but as writers, we should learn to acccept and appreciate help/comments/advice, expecially when the person giving it is only trying to pass on what they’ve learned.

I’d love just five minutes with an author I admire, even if they tore my work to shreds in order to help me rebuild it. (Of course, I’d be devstated if they didn’t enjoy it, but to get that critique…? It’d be worth it)

I do get frustrated when someone doesn’t get what I’m trying to do or doesn’t really like what I’ve written, but you can’t please everyone all of the time. To get those few reviews or appreciative comments from people who have read my work and are eager for the next story, well, that really warms my heart!

This is an example of a nice comment for Oath of God (Wattpad)

‘Two great characters and a very slimy demon.
I like the dialogue between Valdis and Lilah. It is simple and so much is said without being spoken.’

And this is a critical comment for House of Sept: Edited Version (Wattpad)

‘Page 1, paragraph four, the last part of the last sentence, you have “no” instead of “not” regarding the money.

Ah, generic characters on the streets. I like the extra info so far revealed. Baird kicks away a well-fed rat, a scene I liked. Rats can be as big as cats, you know.

Page 2, first sentence, typo for the word “dropped.”

Halfway down page 3, after the extra spaces, the sentence begins a bit oddly, it may need some reworking. This is the sentence that begins as “When he came to Baird.”

How rude! To heal someone and then not stick around!

Anyways, as usual, your story exhibits nice similes and so on, but I think I shouldn’t repeat too much of what I already praised from long ago. Everything’s going pretty well, though I would have made the knife fight longer, but then again, Baird and Gren are not soldiers or warriors.

Speaking of which, if you have any questions about military-related stuff, such as personal accounts somewhat reflecting this time period, I can still help. There are some things in history crazier than fantasy

But yeah, I think the story’s going nicely. I like the extra details and information, too, so see you next time, and Merry Christmas!’

I don’t really get much that is terrible, but often there are suggestions etc. I also appreciate when a reader sends me the page/paragraph of where a spelling mistake is located. Not only does it let me know they’ve read the story, but that they’ve took the time to give me a helping hand in correcting it.

Once again, thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

