personal stuff · self-publishing · writing

Who Wants Traditional…?

Well, I’m one of those people who fights against what others expect of me. I’m not really one of those parents that craves the school limelight, I’m not really interested in doing all the club things for grown-ups or volunteering for the stall at the local craft fair. Although, I’ll be the one buying all the goodies, especially if cake’s involved. I think I had enough of school when I went there and I’m not too keen on going back, unless I have to, or if there’s cake, did I mention cake? 😀

005

Sometimes, I feel like a member of the Addam’s Family when I go to school events, like everyone else is slotted into this mould of what it means to be a perfect parent, all nicely dressed in their best clothes, while I’m sticking out like a sore thumb in black, or occassionally purple, if I’m feeling adventurous!

Now you get the picture, you’ve either run away or are reading on with avid fascination. What will I write next? Well, the above relates to my writing, in a way. I don’t like to conform. I enjoy taking an idea and turning it on its head, usually 360 degrees toward a completely different direction. Am I a good writer? Will my books ever make it into the cold light of day and be enjoyed by readers? *shrugs* who knows? I certainly don’t. The one thing I do know is that writing is like breathing for me. I need it. I have to write or else I may just explode and that would just be messy and a real pain for anyone else to clean up!

Would I eventually risk trying to get an agent again? Maybe. Would I try traditional publishing? Perhaps. What I do know it’s a lot of hard work doing it all yourself. It’s like running a smal business. I have to do everything from top to bottom, including my own filing *tuts* and *rolls eyes* with a *slight smile* What I’m saying is that, for me, it’s beginning to prove worth it. I have followers and readers, and also friends, at least I like to think so, anyway (they might secretly think I’m mad as a box of frogs) but we talk of writing and projects and that’s great for someone who doesn’t have a lot of that on a daily basis!

I’m striving to get my work out there. I’ve got a slot pencilled in for my novella to get professionally edited, which I’m very pleased about. I’ve got a short story in the works as well, and a few other projects.

Basically, what I’m saying is, I like what I do and not many can say that about their work/job!

Thanks for reading! More updates coming soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

