personal stuff · writing

Liebster Award…

I’ve never been nominated for, well, anything, so you’ll excuse me if I don’t know all that much about what I’ve been nominated for? First of all, though, I’d like to thank Claire Banschbach for the nominating me, you can find this great writer at:https://clairembanschbach.wordpress.com/2015/06/07/the-liebster-award-x2/

I’ll answer the questions now… *wipes sweat off brow*

1/  What poked you in the direction of writing/blogging? 

Well, I’ve always had an active imagination and since the age of fourteen have enjoyed writing and reading, starting with horror and then on into the realm of fantasy, where I’ve pretty much taken up residence.

The whole blogging thing came about because, well, I had to start somwhere and from reading Michael Gunter’s own WordPress blog, I decided to give it a shot.

2/ What is your favorite song to sing in the shower?

Ok, this will be short…I really, really don’t torture anyone, not even myself with my singing, lack of talent in that department. Also, while I enjoy music, I’m not an avid listener to any particular song, singer or band. I do enjoy the ocassional foray into the Lord of the Rings soundtrack.

3/ What drives you to write?

Being stubborn. Not wanting to quit. Or to fail…All those things and the abiding passion I have for creating new worlds and characters. I love a good story and It would be awesome if folks would like my work also.

4/ If you could meet one fictional character, who would it be?

This is easy…Belgarath from David Eddison’s Belgariad series (and other subsequent works). Belgarath is the sort of character that can shock and surprise you, he isn’t one dimensional, he has flaws, and quirks. This is what I really love about a well written character.

5/ You get the chance to travel any place, in any time. Where do you go?

This is a little harder, but I’d really like to go to the world of the Drenai, see Druss the Legend in action, live and breathe that very unique world.

6/ Do you have a certain memory associated with a food dish?

Yes, and not a pleasant one, I’m afraid. The very thought of an everest sized pile of cold mash potato gives me the shivers. When I was young, we had to eat all our food, regardless of what it was or if we liked it.

7/ What is one book you are really looking forward to reading?

Hmmm, so many to choose from…However, if I had to pick one off of my very long reading list, it would be Broken Vows by Steve Turnbull.

8/ What is your next big adventure?

It’s kind of one, long adventure for me right now! I’m hoping to release my novella, Vastian Lore by late summer and be finishing up the edit on my novel, Wolf Born. I’m doing a side project of a short story to be sent in for a competition, which I’ll be detailing in my blogs. Finally, I’m sorting out a new cover for Sorceress: Beware What You Believe and will be adding an excerpt of my novella to the end of that short, which is currently published on Kindle.

9/ Another food question. You have to choose one thing to eat for the rest of your life. What do you choose?

This is making me very hungry…! 🙂 Although, I’d have to say, pretty much anything curry/spice related. I love flavour, and experimenting with food, so Indian food is a firm favourite!

10/ What is your favorite passage/verse from a work of literature?

This is a passage from Legend by David Gemmel: “No, I’m sure they are in order,’ said Ulric. ‘Butyou do realise my shaman Nosta Khan must examine the omens. A prmitive custom, I know, but I am sure you udnerstand.’

‘Of course. Such things are a matter of tradition,’ said Bartellus.

Ulric clapped his hands twice and from the shadows to the left came a wizened old man in a dirty goatskin tunic. Under his skunny right arm he carried a white chicken and in his left hand was a wide, shallow bowl. Ulric stood as he approached, holding out his hands and taking the chicken by the neck and legs.

Slowly, Ulric raised it above his head – then, as Bartellus’ eyes widnened in horror, he lowered the bird and bit through its neck, tearing the head from the body. The wings flapped madly and blood gushed and spattered, drenching the white robe. Ulric held the quivering carcass over the bowl, watching as the last of its life-blood stained the wood. Nosta Khan waited until the last drop oozed from the flesh and then lifted the bowl to his lips. He looked up at Ulric and shook his head.

The warlord tossed the bird aside and slowly removed the white robe. Beneath it he wore a black breastplate and belted sword. From beside the throne he lifted the war helm of black steel, fringed with silver fox fur, and placed it on his head. He wiped his bloody mouth on the Drenai robe and carelessly tossed it toward Bartellus.

The herald looked down at the blood-covered cloth at his feet.

‘I am afraid the omens are not pleasant,’ said Ulric.”

Here ends the questions and my answers…I’d like to nominate Kara Jorgenson and Nate Philbrick, if they would like to accept.

These are the rules as given to me:

  • Once you are nominated, make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate other bloggers (however many or few as you’d like).
  • You can also nominate the person who nominated you.
  • Answer the ten questions asked to you by the person who nominated you
  • Make ten questions of your own for your nominees.
  • ALL THE NOMINEES ARE FREE TO ACCEPT OR REJECT THE NOMINATION

My questions are as follows.

1/ How did you first come up with idea for your most recent work/novel/story?

2/ What genre do you prefer to write in?

3/ What is you writing routine, if any?

4/ Coffee or tea? And what sort?

5/ How does the world around you influence you as a writer?

6/ Chocolate? Or a healthy snack?

7/ What is your next big thing/project?

8/ Self-publishing? Traditional? Or both?

9/ How do you de-stress, especially if a story/character is proving stubborn/difficult?

10/ Finally, do you listen to music or have the t.v. on? Or do you prefer quiet when writing?

Leave a Reply

