writing

I’m Working On It! Honest!

female warrior archer

Working on the winning idea for my competition. Based on the idea of clockwork, I’m hoping to create a really interesting story that will pique reader’s curiosity and get them hooked on my style of writing!

I started with a thought. Just a spark, really. Now I’ve had the opportunity to write a little…well, let’s just say I’ve had a change of heart and the thread of the story will be slightly different. It will also be a bit darker than anticipated. However, anyone who has read my work on Wattpad and the short I’ve done on my blog will know I don’t exactly write fluffy bunnies and fairy tale princesses. That’s just not my way. I’ve also got a thing for strong female characters that don’t need rescuing, but rather they do the fighting and helping keep people alive, often better than the so-called heroes.

I’ve mentioned before that I’m in the process of writing a novel. It has a male protagonist. I’ve been working on it for ten years, on and off. Due to personal issues and ill health I’ve had to take several breaks. Now I’m better, I’m hoping to get the draft complete by the end of the year. It’s been my pet project for so long that the world is often more like home to me, if somewhat more hazardous to my health, and the characters are like friends. If a bit crazy and slightly murderous at times. I owe it to them to finish what I started. And I mean to do just that.

However, I do have a lot of other ideas stewing inside my head. Many of them are in first person. A feat I haven’t attempted, apart from the personal thoughts of certain characters when I write in third POV. The other change is that the protagonists of these other stories are female. I would really love to write a strong female lead. Someone who isn’t trapped in a tower, or whimpering about perfect love. I want strong. And deadly. A woman who knows what she wants and sets out to get it!

House of Sept, the story I have started on Wattpad does has a female protagonist, but it’s set in third POV and she does get captured. However, Sacha isn’t one to sit around and just wait to be rescued. I’m hoping this will eventually become a novella linked to my novel, distantly…

Coupled with recovery from my op, working on this short, reviewing my short, World’s Beginning/Asarl’s Order on Wattpad, house stuff and the artwork which is the prize given to the winner of the competition, I’m flat out busy! Plus, kids off school, going on holiday, uniform to buy, the animal menagerie needs all the usual flea & worming treatments…Sometimes I wish I could just pull the quilt over my head and go back to sleep, for about a year…It never stops! If it did, would I be bored?? Heck, yeah! 🙂

So, keep a look out for my short on clockwork, should be posted before my deadline of 16th September!! Let me know what you think. I’m also publishing it on Wattpad. With links to Twitter.

Thanks for reading!!

Leave a Reply

