writing

Mooching!!

Sigh…It’s been a tough week on the boredom front! Oh, I’ve been doing my blog and trying my best to finish the short story I’ve been working on Wattpad. The main problem has been my inability to go very far after the operation, and I’m not allowed to be a passenger in a car for the first two weeks, which ends this Saturday, hooray!! An opportunity I won’t be wasting! I think the seaside is calling, if the weather holds! I’m not very good at being hemmed in by brick walls, unless solitary is of my own choosing.

So, the plan is basically, now that the pain in my legs has gone, to complete the short story and publish on Wattpad, find out who wins the competition on the blog and do another short, plus a drawing for the prize, sort all that, and finally go back to my novel, which has been waiting in the wings for such a long time now I think the characters may have forgotten there’s a writer at all and decided to have an adventure of their own! Not that I blame them. I know that I started a story on Wattpad, (House of Sept) but that may have to go on the back burner for now, at least until I get the novel completed, as it’s in the editing stage and I really need to complete and start sending off for an agent once more! (wish me luck)

There’s also a few other things I’d like to get done, like a bit more of the garden before winter, sorting birthdays out, a summer holiday, jobs in the house, but they usually get left behind in the wake of writing. The only thing that doesn’t is the kids and their never ending needs!

On a side note, I’d also like to enter a few competitions in the writing department, just to test myself and also whether I can win!! That would be nice! A good addition to my writing C.V. as well, everything helps in the end!

I also need to expand my blog page and add a few links just to make it better.

Just to add to the ever increasing mass of ideas already in my mind, I’ve been getting so many more stories rolling around inside my head since I had the operation, this lack of pain has really helped me focus, and I’m glad I decided to go ahead and have it done.

So, there’ll be a distinct possibility some of those will be published on Wattpad and my blog, so long as they don’t interfere too much with my novel writing. I just don’t have the time to write a whole new novel alongside the one I’m already doing, so sadly, House of Sept will just have to wait! Although. since I started it, I have now had the idea that it is associated with the world I’m currently writing, but a very long time in the future, all the links are coming together, like strings on a spider web, interconnected in a complex pattern I think will turn out to be very interesting indeed! The only problem, I’ll have to start setting up a timeline now, just to keep it all straight and have something visual to look at!

My novel is already part of a possible trilogy, with a further trilogy based on the main characters offspring, and then a standalone book based in the future, and of course, the idea sent to me by @gunterwriting, about clockwork has a possibility to be used regardless of how the competition ends, and shall also be linked to that world, as a standalone, with a few of the central characters thrown in just to see what might happen. Clockwork, is something with too many potentials to pass up!

As I’ve said previously, I would like a few more comments/ideas posted on my blog regarding the competition, to see what comes out of it, and find the basis for a really good short story! I’m also thinking of doing another competition of flash fiction, for readers to send me their stories and see what happens!

Reminder! Closing date for competition: 16th August 2014, please send your ideas!

Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

